Council of State Science Supervisors
“The voice and vision of science education for the states”

Council of State Science Supervisors Committees

With the purpose of promoting the work of the Council of State Science Supervisors (CSSS) and to facilitate collaboration around issues that the membership and the CSSS Board of Directors (Board) have identified as critical to supporting science education across all states, the Board has formed ad hoc committees. Each ad hoc committee will be led by at least one CSSS state member selected by the Board and will have a Board member assigned as the primary point of contact to the Board. The committee leads will report on committee activity to the Board, at a minimum, on a quarterly basis or, in special circumstances, at the request of the Board. 

The ad hoc committees are open to participation from all CSSS members. Once formed, the Board will invite all members to join one of the committees. In addition to the specific purpose of each of the ad hoc committees, all committees are charged with communicating their work to the rest of the organization. These ad hoc committees will remain active as long as the committee and the Board feel that the work is useful for the membership. The Board will evaluate the work of each committee and will decide in the formation of new committees or dissolution of old ones based on the needs of the organization at the annual Board retreat. The Board may also create or dissolve committees at any point it deems necessary.

Access and Equity

The Equity and Access Committee is tasked with identifying research and practices that address the elements of inequity in science education. This committee plans to address achievement gaps among demographic subgroups that have persisted across time. Furthermore, the committee will explore ways that CSSS as an organization can offer viable solutions to these systemic barriers.   


Research Partners

 Board Liaison
André DeLeón (NV)
Jamie Rumage (OR)
Phil Bell (U of WA)
Deb Morrison (U of WA)

Maya Garcia (DC)

Professional Learning

The Professional Learning Committee works to identify research and practices that help professional development providers design and implement high quality, sustained professional learning opportunities for educators and to provide guidance to state and local leaders about broad criteria they can apply to evaluate professional development plans and activities.  The Science Professional Learning Standards (CSSS, 2018) are due to be published soon on the CSSS resources page. 

 Co-Chairs  Research Partners  Board Liaison

Cathy Mackey (AR)
Brett Moulding (Associate - UT)

Bill Penuel (CU-Boulder)
Katie Van Horne (CU-Boulder)

Tiffany Neill (OK)

Instructional Resources

One of the challenges of implementing science instruction that is consistent with the Framework for K-12 Science Education is a lack of appropriate instructional resources. A challenge for the federal science mission-based agencies is to make educators aware of the free resources that they have published. This committee solves both problems with one elegant solution. Collaboration.

Co-Chairs    Research Partners  Board Liaison

Michael Heinz (NJ)

Esther Hopkins (OH)

Matt Krehbiel (Achieve) 

Peg Steffen (NOAA - Affiliate)

Kevin Anderson (WI)

Science Across Curriculum

The Science Across Curriculum Committee focuses on work that is inherently cross disciplinary and supports effective science instruction for all learners.  This would include, but not be limited to Literacy in Science, mathematics, and ELA.  Initial tasks would include building on interest around argumentation and explanation and facilitating informative webinars for members that connect this idea to efforts around integrated curriculum at the elementary level.

Co-Chairs   Research Partners  Board Liaison

Amber McCulloch (WA)  
Kathy Renfrew (Associate - MA)

Carla Zembal-Saul (Penn State)

Megan Schrauben (MI)

Assessing Science Learning

The Assessing Science Learning Committee supports state leaders in developing and providing professional learning for authentic systems of science assessment. We emphasize ideas of three-dimensional formative and summative assessments, applicable across the work of all states. In particular, we work toward assessment systems and items that can provide meaningful information about the learning of all students.

 Co-Chairs  Research Partners  Board Liaison

Dawn Cope (WA)

TJ Smolek (MI)

Cora James (OK)

Erin Marie Furtak (CU - Boulder)
Jim Pellegrino (U of Illinois - Chicago)

Shari Templeton (ME)

CSSS Assessment Committee Resources

Leadership and Advocacy

The Leadership and Advocacy Committee supports state leaders in identifying resources and information pertaining to state and federal policies and funding streams.

 Co-Chairs  Research Partners  Board Liaison
Sara Cooper (NE)
Amanda Buice (GA)

Jodi Peterson (NSTA)
 Tiffany Neill (OK)

Technology and Digital Communications

The Technology and Digital Communications Committee assists the board of directors and membership in fulfilling its oversight responsibilities with respect to the overall role of technology in executing the mission and vision of the organization.

Co-Chairs Board Liaison
Lizette Burks (KS)
Ricky Scott (UT)
 Doug Paulson (MN)

Follow our activities

© Council of State Science Supervisors, 2017. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software